"The Music of Regret" (Act I) (2006)

"The Music of Regret" (Act I), 2006
35 mm film, 40 minutes. Directed by Laurie Simmons; Music, Michael Rohatyn; Camera, Ed Lachman ASC; with Meryl Streep, Adam Guettel, and the Alvin Ailey II Dancers.
© Laurie Simmons, courtesy the artist and Salon 94, New York.

"In making the film, ‘The Music of Regret’, I did something that I’ve always wanted to do which is, literally, to bring my work to life. I got a chance to really revisit my work- the characters and the ideas that I dealt with for so many years that were just fleeting, still images or just a glimpse of a narrative- and figure out what would happen if suddenly I was looking at a photograph and the characters started to talk to me, or sing or dance. It’s a fantasy that I’ve had for a really long time, but I never really thought I would or could make a movie."

- Laurie Simmons

Nope ×
Close ×
Close ×
Answer one question. Improve our website.

Today, I’m visiting the ART21 website:

Done. Thank you!

What is this?

We’re always looking for ways to improve our site, so we want to know why you’re here and how we can help you find the information you need. For specific questions or comments about our website or this survey, please contact us. Thanks for your help!